top of page

October Art Prompts


1. Drawing tutorial

This month’s drawing tutorial is Charcoal sketching.

You can view the tutorial here and also download it as a handout.

2. Exhibition This month I have 2 exhibitions for you;

  • The Royal Academy Summer (well Autumn now!) exhibition. Which due to COVID-19 was pushed back a few months.

or a little more local for those in West Sussex

3. Materials Something a little different. I'm not very textile-y and besides making some facemasks recently, I only really use my sewing machine for taking up my partners trousers! So here is a video of Anne Kelly showing you how to make a textile folk tree collage. 4. 7 days of sketching So prompt 4 is another new idea and do let me know if you love it or hate it. 7 days of sketching each month. You can build these into your regular sketching practise. Spread them over the month. Or choose 1 week where you sketch each day. This months prompts are all ART based;

1 Ink 2 Pot 3 Pen 4 Scissors 5 Paintbrush 6 Pencil 7 Palette

I'm excited to see if you draw them or use them to create your sketch! If you are on social media don't forget #Inktober this month where each day you post an ink based image. I can’t wait to see what you produce this month. Do share it on the Student Chatroom.

5 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page