top of page

Petworth House. Another sketching adventure!


I’ve been writing a series of blogs this year about using your sketchbook en plein air.

The first post I talked about fostering a sketching regime – sketching on a regular basis to develop your observational skills.

In the last post I talked about my sketching equipment and ran through some personal choices for good mark making on the go.

Through these blogs I have used the lovely Seawhite concertina sketchbooks. They have been around for a while, but this year was the first time I had used one. I’m converted! They are just great for a holiday or one off event. I’m not sure I would use one a resource gathering sketchbook though.

My latest sketchbook adventure was a few weeks ago, on a trip to Petworth House. As a family we took an afternoon trip to visit the house.

I took a small concertina sketchbook, but didn’t sketch around the house in the end.

A little selection of photos from our visit.

We then took a walk through the ground and the park; I decided to sketch as we were walking, stopping at one spot or another to sketch the view. I wanted to sketch different views, but join them together to depict our walk in one continuous image.

I ended up using a lot more watercolour than I have in previous sketchbooks. I was inspired by a previous sketchbook where I just created a view from a hill in Somerset in watercolour. It had turned out so well I wanted to give it a go again! This sketchbook I only used pencil for sketching and watercolour for washes. It is quite different form my previous sketchbooks this year, having less mark making and line then those.

Blog you later....

30 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page